Author Topic: SubSim problem  (Read 12200 times)

Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
SubSim problem
« on: September 29, 2010, 05:03:20 PM »
Today when I log into SubSim I was told I needed to install Java ok never had that before.  scrtg
And then the next time I went to log in My nod 32 antivirus software went crazy and warned me that this site was trying to send Trojans to my computer
What gives  mtzi




Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2010, 07:53:51 PM »
I Found this in my quarantine folder of Nod32it was never allowed to install

29/09/2010 ….  drerlre.co.cc/client.zip… java/TrojanDownloader.agent.NBU trojan
 29/09/2010 … drerlre .co.cc/1.zip ….. A variant of java/Mugade

(I removed the http:// to stop them being active links)

I connected using my Firefox browser  realno




Offline Carotio

  • Administrator
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1848
  • Karma: +35/-2
  • Wie ist es eigentlich so unter'm Wasser? Dunkel
    • Silent Hunter Mods Forum
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2010, 08:40:22 PM »
 ???

I have no problems. I logged in early today and just now. I don't see any of that...

Taler dansk, speak English, spreche Deutsch, parle français, forstår svenska/norsk, comprendo español
Before you write me a pm, ask yourself, if it ain't better to write it in the forum. It usually is.

Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2010, 09:16:13 PM »
Hhmmm Ok but I just un-installed Firefox and ran some hitman software that found nothing but would not un-install again.
So Restored my machine to before today’s java up data check all was ok then started up IE 64bit version check around the sites I used no problems so far.
But opened the SubSim forum and you guessed it these pages use a version of java to view them NFW am I doing that again the pages load ok without it   mtzi

Just posted this on Subsim




Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2010, 09:41:09 PM »
I hit the red cross on the up-date and left the forum and just returned but the message did not re-appear  scrtg




Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2010, 02:35:53 PM »




Offline Herr-Berbunch

  • Matrosenobergefreiter bei den Nutten
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2010, 05:51:28 PM »
Hope it's all sorted, but if not...
[img]

Offline Carotio

  • Administrator
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1848
  • Karma: +35/-2
  • Wie ist es eigentlich so unter'm Wasser? Dunkel
    • Silent Hunter Mods Forum
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2010, 06:40:43 PM »
Well, obviously several people using different combinations of browsers and security software reports it, then there must be a general problem somewhere. I have just not seen it. I'm using FireFox with no-script most of the time plus using Comodo IS but without the anti-virus, for the av I use AVG. On both desktop and laptop.

Taler dansk, speak English, spreche Deutsch, parle français, forstår svenska/norsk, comprendo español
Before you write me a pm, ask yourself, if it ain't better to write it in the forum. It usually is.

Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2010, 12:46:48 PM »
I would still advise caution when viewing the Subsim forum
As this nasty little bugger is still around as I found out today Monday 4 October 2010

 lam1




Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2010, 05:29:13 PM »
Looks like Neal is getting touchy about this Trojan thing
Now he is trying to make out we don’t know what we are talking about
Is this a case of head in the sand
 roga1





Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2010, 01:17:10 PM »
Looks like it might be sorted for now  j12




Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2010, 01:50:47 PM »
I wonder that if like me you have recently re-installed your Machine


And then when entering SubSim clicked “Yes” to installing flash player 10.1
And then you were asked to add the Java update if so this may explain a lot.
Because it looks like Subsim may have not Known that the link they offered to
Add this Flash Player link may have contained a little added program Please see below  realno




That could be why some have seen this and a lot have not.
  scrtg





Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2010, 10:31:37 AM »
All clean that’s Great lets take a look today Thursday 7 Oct





1 hour removing it and un-installing firefox because there is no way im trusting this again
on going on to another site crap started to pop up also wanting to be downloaded  hmmmmmmmmmmm
let someone else post about it on subsim i had a gut full

and this time I dont have flash player 10 installed at all  scrtg
« Last Edit: October 07, 2010, 03:19:30 PM by SeaWolf U-57 »




Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2010, 02:39:16 PM »
Wasn’t that lucky a total re-install    mtzi




Offline Phoenix 1957

  • SHMF Mod Manager
  • Kapitänleutnant
  • *
  • Posts: 1822
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • Silent Hunter III
Re: SubSim problem
« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2010, 09:32:24 AM »
Other members of Subsim are now reporting problems
Another thread has shown up in the SH3 forums
also one about downloads not working I hope that’s not part of this also
rogue address showing on warnings is
91.188.60.234 server don’t look like that’s in America



I wonder if that’s a members I.P also